Yoga, is a group of physical, mental, and spiritual practices or disciplines. A lot of us search outside of ourselves or wellness and fulfillment when we can simply find it within us. In the Pasupata Sutra system, yoga is the union of self and the lord. Yoga can also be used to ground oneself in reality, or attain a physical goal.


There are many health benefits of yoga:

  • Increased flexibility
  • Improved mental
  • Improved posture
  • Lowers stress
  • Reduce disease
  • Improve blood circulation
  • Strengthen and tone
  • Elevates mood

And the list goes on and on

The eight parts of Yoga

  1. Restraint
  2. Observe
  3. Posture
  4. Breath
  5. Turn inward
  6. Concentrate
  7. Meditate
  8. Oneness

Yoga can help you self study and become one with your inner being. It helps you detach from the world and self discipline, as well as gain insight.

In my next post, I will dive deeper into the different systems of yoga. Until then here are a few simple poses (Asanas) to get you started!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s